Skip to content

Queue administration

This guide shows how to administrate your workspace queues.

Prerequisites:

What is a queue?

A queue is an accsyn job entity acting as a container for ordered jobs having a fixed priority.

  • A workspace can have multiple queues, by default three queues are created from start: High, Medium and Low.
  • Priority is a number between 0 and 1000, jobs in higher priority queues get executed before those in low priority.
  • One queue must be designated as the "default", the default queue is where new jobs are put when no queue constraints are given at submission.

Queue list

The queue list shows all active queues within your workspace:

  • Status indicator; Green is enabled, orange is disabled.
  • Name (code); The workspace unique name of the queue.
  • Default indicator - points out the default queue where jobs/deliveries are assigned if no queue constraints are given on submit.
  • Priority: Dictates which priority job(s) beneath the queue should be given, defined as a positive number between 0-1000.
  • Description; (Optional) The description of queue.
  • Edit (pen) button.
  • Menu button.

Queue menu:

  • Edit; Bring up queue editor.
  • Disable; Disable the queue.
  • Enable; Enable the queue.
  • Logs; Show log events related to the queue.
  • Delete; Delete the queue.

Create a new queue

To create a new queue, click the NEW QUEUE button in the upper right corner.

  • Code (name); The workspace unique name to give the queue, can contain letters, numbers, dot(.), underscore(_) or hyphen(-).
  • Priority; The priority to give queue.
  • Description; (Optional) The description to give queue.

When done, click CREATE to have the queue created. Click the cross (X) icon in upper right corner to cancel creation.

Edit a queue

To edit a queue, click on it in the list.

Attributes

Edit queue attributes such as code, priority and default.

Transfer settings

Override global accsyn copy protocol (ASC) file transfer settings for the queue.

NOTE: Transfer settings can be further overridden on individual job level.

Job settings

Override global job settings for the queue.

NOTE: Job settings can be further overridden on individual job level.

Email Settings

Override global email rules for jobs within this queue.

Hooks

Define additional hooks, complementing workspace global hooks.

Metadata

Define metadata for this queue, which will be appended to upstream metadata and provided to queue jobs with Workflows - API calls, engine execution, hooks execution, and so on.

Delete a queue

To delete a queue, open the menu (three dots icon) on the right hand side and choose Delete.

NOTE: This cannot be undone.

Any job(s) that reside in the queue will be moved to the default queue. If this is the only queue left, deletion will fail.