Skip to content

Client administration

This guide shows how to administrate your workspace clients.

Prerequisites:

What is a client?

A client is the remote party in a p2p accsyn client file transfer.

This involves the high speed accsyn file protocol (ASC) and web browser transfers (HTTPS).

New clients are created automatically when:

  • One or more files/deliveries are decided to be up-/downloaded in the web browser.
  • When logging on to the desktop app GUI.

The client launches with the Desktop App, runs in the tray (Windows), menu bar (Mac) and is independent of the GUI - you do not need to log in to have the client running file transfers.

Hint: accsyn servers are also actually client instances internally, they just have a different type.

Client list

The client list shows all clients within your workspace: 

  • Client select; Select one or more clients to perform enable/disable batch processing actions.
  • Status indicator; Green is enabled, empty is offline. Disabled clients are rendered with an orange ban icon.
  • Hostname (code); The hostname the client has, as picked up from the underlying host/operating system.
  • User; The user that spawned and owns the client.
  • Last checkin: The last time the client was seen.
  • Spawned; The date the client was created.
  • Menu button.

Client menu:

  • Disable; Disable the client - ongoing jobs involving client will be interrupted.
  • Enable; Enable the client.
  • Logs; Show log events related to the client.
  • Delete; Delete the client.

Delete a client

To delete a client, open the client menu (three dots icon) on the right hand side and choose Delete.

NOTE: This cannot be undone.

Any job(s) that reside in the queue will be moved to the default queue. If this is the only queue left, deletion will fail.

Related articles

Desktop App